Blog

LOST & FOUND SISTERS by Jill Shalvis

Available now from Harper Audio.y648

From the Publisher:

“From New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis comes her first women’s fiction novel—an unforgettable story of friendship, love, family, and sisterhood—perfect for fans of Colleen Hoover, Susan Mallery, and Kristan Higgins.
They say life can change in an instant…
After losing her sister in a devastating car accident, chef Quinn Weller is finally getting her life back on track. She appears to have it all: a loving family, a dream job in one of L.A.’s hottest eateries, and a gorgeous boyfriend dying to slip an engagement ring on her finger. So why does she feel so empty, like she’s looking for a missing piece she can’t find?
The answer comes when a lawyer tracks down Quinn and reveals a bombshell secret and a mysterious inheritance that only she can claim. This shocking revelation washes over Quinn like a tidal wave. Her whole life has been a lie.
On impulse, Quinn gives up her job, home, and boyfriend. She heads up the coast to the small hometown of Wildstone, California, which is just a few hours north, but feels worlds apart from Los Angeles. Though she doesn’t quite fit in right away, she can’t help but be drawn to the town’s simple pleasures…and the handsome, dark-haired stranger who offers friendship with no questions asked.
As Quinn settles into Wildstone, she discovers there’s another surprise in store for her. The inheritance isn’t a house or money, but rather something earthshattering, something that will make her question everything she thought she knew about herself, about her family. Now with a world of possibilities opening up to Quinn, she must decide if this new life is the one she was always meant to have—and the one that could finally give her the fulfillment she’s searched so long for.

From the review at AudioFile Magazine:

“Quinn Weller receives the shock of her life when she finds out that she is adopted AND that she has a 15-year-old sister named Tilly. Another revelation is that she has inherited a café in the small town of Wildstone, California. Narrator Karen White takes the listener on Quinn’s journey as she explores life in Wildstone. Also in town coping with family situations is Mick Hennessy. White has the listener falling in love with Mick and the wonderful way he treats Quinn, who is still dealing with the loss of her adoptive sister two years earlier. White also does an excellent job voicing the snarky teenaged Tilly and the various townsfolk of Wildstone.”

From the review at Fangs, Wands and Fairy Dust:

“… but, of course, there’s more to like, including Karen’s White awesome narration!”

From the review at Reading Between the Wines Book Club:

“Lost and Found Sisters is superbly narrated by the incredibly talented Karen White. She has done a great job with every book I’ve ever heard her narrate and this audio is no exception. She even aces Cooper’s woof. Her voicing of all the characters – male, female and animal – sounds realistic and exudes the proper emotion. Her impersonations remain consistent through-out. Bottomline: If you enjoy audios and can pick up Lost and Found Sisters in audio, your enjoyment of the story will be exponentially increased. Period.”

My recording experience: 

All I can say is, if you’re a Jill Shalvis fan, you should read this book. (And if you’re not, WTH not?) Besides all the usual good stuff you’d find in one of Shalvis’ books, here we’ve got more complex family dynamics, especially between sisters. And she is brilliant at getting inside the mind of a teenage girl, IMHO. Here’s one of my favorite quotes from Tilly’s journal, which gives you a good idea of her special bittersweet humor: “I miss when my mom would come in my room and ask why everything was on the floor and I’d say gravity.”

Listen to a sample here:

THIS GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED.  Jonetta and Debbie are the randomly selected winners and the CDs will be mailed out to them as soon as I get their addresses.  Thanks to all for entering!  I give away lots of books – to find out about them in the future, please consider following this blog, or my Facebook page, or on Twitter. Oftentimes, you can also enter there!

I have another copy being given away at RomanceNarrators.com as part of their #LoveAudiobooks giveaway. Definitely check that out until June 30. 

(If you’d like to buy a copy, using this link, I’ll receive a small percentage from Amazon through their Associates program.)

 

15 thoughts on “LOST & FOUND SISTERS by Jill Shalvis”

  1. beckyrab says:

    So looking forward to this one.

  2. violet245 says:

    Sounds wonderful and I love audiobooks! N

  3. Debbie D says:

    Sounds like another one for my wishlist.

    1. Karen says:

      Debbie, you are one of the winners! I will email you to get your mailing address shortly.

  4. I’m so looking forward to this book! Would love it on audio.

    1. Karen says:

      Jonetta you are one of the winners! I will email your shortly to get your mailing address.

      1. Squee!!!! You just made my day!

  5. Mary C. says:

    Love Jill’s books!

  6. Janie McGaugh says:

    This sounds really great!

  7. KV says:

    I enjoy her books and am looking forward to it.

  8. Sherrie Lamb says:

    I am looking forward to reading this book. Thanks for the chance.

  9. ladydi232 says:

    This book looks so good! Perfect beach read!

  10. Karen says:

    Love that! I used to leave audiobooks on when I left my dog who had separation anxiety alone and it seemed to help.

  11. skkgagnon says:

    Haha, funny quote from Tilly! I enjoyed the sample as well! I am a fan of Ms Shalvis and love the sound of this more complex dynamic weaved into the rest of her signature story telling along with our narration! Thanks for the chance to win! 🙂

  12. jlibrarian says:

    Love both your writing and listening to audiobooks!

Leave a Reply

If you’d like to share your comments, fill out the form below and click Post Comment. Your email address will not be shared.

Required fields are marked *